Accountancy

Mrs. Mary Fiagbe, HOD

The Department of Accountancy was created as a section within the then Business Studies Department in 1965 to offer courses in the Royal Society of Arts (RSA) Stages I, II and III.  Post secondary programmes namely; Diploma in Business Studies (Accounting option) and the Institute of Chartered Accountants (Ghana) Intermediate Part ‘A’ and ‘B’ were later introduced.  With the introduction of the Education Reforms in 1993, the Business Studies Department split into two: Accountancy and Secretaryship Departments.

A semi-autonomous section of the Department, the Marketing Unit, was created in 1997 with the primary objective of offering the Marketing students a unique combination of opportunities to enable them catch up with the latest marketing management techniques.

On September 1, 2001, the Marketing Unit was made a full Department and the Purchasing and Supply programme brought under it.

Mission
The mission of the Department of Accountancy is to be a centre of excellence offering high quality career-oriented training to middle level man-power in commerce and industry and to provide consultancy services to the general public.

Goals and Objectives
The overall goal of the Department is to produce well-trained, career-oriented students, equipped with entrepreneurial and managerial skills to become self-employed or to take middle level management positions in industry, commerce and the public service.

The Objectives of the Department are to:

(a)     Increase access to career-focused education and training in commerce;

(b)     Offer technician level programmes to members of the community;

(c)     Mount special courses to upgrade the entrepreneurial skills of the self-employed in the community; and

(d)     Establish linkages with both local and foreign institutions of higher learning and promote research.

Programmes of Study
The Department offers the Higher National Diploma (HND) programme in Accountancy on both regular and evening basis. The Department services all other Departments of the Polytechnic in Accountancy related courses.

 

Staff Position

The staff of the Department consists of full-time staff.

S/N NAME  QUALIFICATIONS  RANK STAFF EMAILS
1 Kofi Abaidoo CA (Gh.),MBA (E), Graduate CIAG, Graduate Dip. IPMA, Cert. Ed. Senior Lecturer  kofi.abaidoo@tpoly.edu.gh
2 Samuel Tsibuah MBA (MIS), B.Ed (Maths & Physical Edu.), Teachers' Diploma in Maths, Teachers' Certificate 'A'  Senior Lecturer  samuel.tsibuah@tpoly.edu.gh
3 Emmanuel Owusu-Acquah MBA (Finance), ACCA, BSc. (Hons) Agric, Dip. Ed. Lecturer emmanuel.owusu-acquah@tpoly.edu.gh
4 John Boakye MBA, BA (Hons) Economics, Dip. Ed. Lecturer john.boakye@tpoly.edu.gh
5 Godfred Gyau Ntow MSc (FDA), B.Com, Dip. Ed., ICA II, Diploma in Business Studies       Lecturer godfred.gyau@tpoly.edu.gh
6 Mary Fiagbe MBA (Accounting), B.Com, Dip. Ed Lecturer mary.fiagbe@tpoly.edu.gh
7 William Ayisi MPA, B.Ed (Social Sciences) Economics Lecturer william.ayisi@tpoly.edu.gh
8 John E. Baiden MSc. (International Banking & Finance), ACCA, BSc. (Banking/Finance) Lecturer john.baiden@tpoly.edu.gh
9 James Kobina Yalley MBA(Finance/Accounting), BSc. (Engineering) Lecturer james.yalley@tpoly.edu.gh
10 Victor Fannam Nunfam M. Phil (Dev’t Studs), B.Ed (Population & Family Life Education), Cert. 'A' Lecturer victor.nunfam@tpoly.edu.gh
11 Ibrahim Abu MBA (EPM), BA (Hons) Economics & Statistics Lecturer ibrahim.abu@tpoly.edu.gh
12 Richard Ekow Abakah CA (Gh.) MSc (Fin. Mgt.), ACCA, BSc. (Hons) Applied Accounting Lecturer richard.abakah@tpoly.edu.gh
13 Emmanuel Boadi MBA (Accounting/Finance), CA (Gh.), B.Ed (Accounting/Maths) Lecturer emmanuel.boadi@tpoly.edu.gh
14 Benjamin Siaw Ofori ACCA II, MBA (Finance), B.Com. Lecturer benjamin.ofori@tpoly.edu.gh
15 Charles Ayariga MBA (Accounting), ICA (GH) Part III, B.Com, Dip. Ed. Lecturer charles.ayariga@tpoly.edu.gh
16 Frank Ekow Arthur MBA (Accounting), ACCA, B.Com, AID, HND Accounting Lecturer frank.ekow.arthur@tpoly.edu.gh
17 Justice Mark Baidoo EMBA, ICA III, B.Ed (Social Science) Lecturer justice.baidoo@tpoly.edu.gh
18 Martha Coleman EMBA, ICA III, B.Ed (Social Science) Lecturer martha.coleman@tpoly.edu.gh
19 John Essel MBA (Finance ), ACIB (Associate) Lecturer john.essel@tpoly.edu.gh
20 Abigail Padi M. Phil (Economics), BA (Economics) Lecturer abigail.padi@tpoly.edu.gh
21 Benedicta Teye MBA (Finance), B.Ed (Accounting Option) Lecturer benedicta.teye@tpoly.edu.gh
22 Marshall Willington Blay MBA (Acc/Finance) MA (Environ.Mgt. & Policy), B. Ed (ACC/Math) Lecturer marshal.blay@tpoly.edu.gh
23 Charles Sam Cudjoe MBA (Accounting/Taxation), B.Ed (Social Science) Lecturer charles.cudjoe@tpoly.edu.gh
24 Daniel Odei Okyere B.Com, C.A (GH) Lecturer daniel.okyere@tpoly.edu.gh
25 Emmanuel Amoateng BA (Economics) Senior Instructor emmanuel.amoateng@tpoly.edu.gh
  Rebecca Clegg .M Ed. Guindance and Counselling, Bed. Home Economics. Assistant Registrar rebecca.clegg@tpoly.edu.gh
27 Christian Botwe Nyarko B.Ed Social Science  Senior Administrative Assistant cebotwe@gmail.com

2015/2016 Admissions!

Check your status